Kettle

Posted: October 26, 2011 in Equipment

I got this key from ebay for $80 incl shipping.  I cut the top open with an angle grinder.  After I did this, I found a suggestion online to fill it with water to absorb the sound.  Man I wish I found that a day or two earlier.  It was crazy loud while cutting.  My brain was itchy when I was done.  The sight glass is from Brewhardware.com and the weldless valve was from NorthernBrewer.

I had to make a little heat shield for the sight glass due to the heat of the propane burner.  I just took a piece of thin sheet metal and bent it into a shallow box, then screwed it into the skirt at the bottom of the keg. It makes a huge difference.  With my handheld temp probe I measured ~400F next to the shield during boil and under the stainless elbow for the sight glass measured ~250F.  Pretty significant.  However, this is essentially at the limit of the polycarbonate sight glass.  Too much exposure and this thing will start warping big time.  I have brewed a few times with it and so far no warping.  I am in the process of converting to electric which will eliminate this risk.  I used the leftover sheet metal to make a splash shield for the pump (you can see it in my brewstand pic).

Nov2011:
Installed the electric heating element and RTD temp probe.  Also made the probe cable using the wire and connectors from Auber instruments.

Leak tested overnight with not even one drop.  I have been putting this off because the thought of punching a 1-1/4″ hole in the side of my keg terrified me.  It was easier than I thought it would be.  I am very happy now.  Once the control panel is finished I can finally light this up and start brewing again!

Comments
  1. Kurt says:

    The Panel looks great! How much is Abita paying you for the shameless product placement?

Leave a Reply

